I desire your submission

you desire My Dominance

The rambling thoughts of T, a Dominant Man

D/s

2006-09-28

...My name is T and I'm an Ugly American (... is there cake and coffee after the meeting?)

I�m �stuck� in a small border town in southeast Texas. I say �stuck�, but that�s only my initial, head in the sand attitude talking. Sigh� I�ve once again realized that we truly are the Ugly Americans that we�re often portrayed as. Things are different here, so I (even as �enlightened� as I like to think I am) immediately classify it as inferior. What a stupid and narrow minded attitude. I suppose recognizing this flaw is the 1st step to changing it (and now I ponder the chances of there being a 12-step program for Ugly Americans).

In reality, once you overlook the general physical appearance, the people here are great. But to be totally honest, it�s decidedly NOT pretty here, and �downright ugly� would be a mild way of describing most of what I see on the south side of the border (the northern side has it�s moments, but also won�t make the Fodor�s list of �must visit� locals) The nicest places I�ve seen in Mexico are actually manufacturing plants owned my large multi-national companies� well, except for a few houses that, I�m told, are valued upwards of a few million dollars. Yeah, a few million DOLLARS, not pesos (~12 pesos to the dollar exchange rate at present). I double checked, and they insist this pronouncement of value is correct. I silently questioned this figure, as it�s hard to imagine anything here worth that (example� they got the front quarter-panel of a Ford Explorer repaired and painted� for $250� that�s an easy $1000 in the states). I have to say, seeing these really nice and LARGE houses, situated in enclaves of 3 square blocks, scattered about the town of Reynosa and totally surrounded by what looks to be just a few steps above squalor is very discombobulating to one�s sense of �here�. It�s even stranger to see, even on the most wealthy of homes, graffiti of all types adorning the security walls that are surrounding most of the homes. I asked where the wealth came from to be able to afford such luxurious homes� I shouldn�t have. Any answer that has the words �drugs� and �cartel� in it, I don�t want to know about :p I suddenly wondered how many times our vehicle had been �noted� as we slowly drove up and down the streets, my tour guide proudly pointing all this out.

Yesterday, I was invited to a party by one of the girls I�m providing training to (on the American side). Now, this wasn�t just ANY party, but her daughter�s 15th birthday party. I�ll have to find out the name of this party, but it�s a �coming out� party of sorts that is part of their Hispanic culture. From what I understand, it�s as big as any back-east Bar Mitzvah (or Bat Mitzvah in this case) and is only rivaled by a wedding in scope, size and importance. Getting an invitation is no small thing� just like at a Bat Mitzvah or wedding, each guest has a �price� attached. I have to admit, I was surprised and certainly honored.

The company I�m working with at present has a site on the US side and the Mexico side (I�m writing this while sitting on the Mexico side� can you tell?). While traveling to the plant today, we passed by a string of cemeteries that I had asked about previously, and I suddenly found myself letting my compatriots know that I want to walk through one before my time here is done. LOL, that got some strange looks from the two plant managers that I was traveling with. I explained that growing up in New Orleans with very unique cemeteries has lead me to visit cemeteries in lots of different locations � I find them fascinating (what can I say� I�m strange!). After hearing the comment �geez, I don�t know too many people fascinated with the dead�, I immediately countered with �I don�t know another country with a holiday called �The Day of the Dead�.

That got us talking about how that holiday is HUGE here in Mexico, especially in the interior of the country. Which lead to a discussion about what the �real� Mexico was like (and I believe them when they say it isn�t ANYTHING like it is here at the border).

One of these days, I really need to travel down there and check it out. For that matter, I also need to travel north and check out Canada (outside of quick visits to Toronto and Montreal, I really haven�t seen any of it� well, except for a quick visit to Halifax, where I saw a tidal river run backwards!).

I have no idea where this entry was heading, and even now, after re-reading it, I don�t know where it ended up. So, with that admission, I�m off to find a local 12-step program for Ugly Americans. Since I�m still in denial, I�ll blame it on the water�

t85225 at 4:11 p.m.

|

previous | next