I desire your submission

you desire My Dominance

The rambling thoughts of T, a Dominant Man

D/s

2006-02-17

Mid-life crisis waiting for assistance - aisle 4

Just returned from my lawyer�s office. My lawyer� sounds ominous, doesn�t it?

But I had no choice, had to get one� the ex finally filed divorce papers, and if I don�t want her to take me to the proverbial cleaners via a non-contested judgment, I have to do this.

The good news� I feel confidant that I�ve got the right firm. They understand I�m not looking for every last penny to be equally divided, just a fair settlement that won�t cost a gazillion dollars to obtain.

The bad news� it�s going to cost a gazillion dollars� no matter what.

They first asked for a retainer of $2500 (!), but were sure to let me know that the retainer won�t cover the costs (assuming we don�t agree to everything ahead of time, and simply use the lawyers to document it). Gadzooks!

An off the wall comment � Word didn�t identify gadzooks as a misspelling� apparently, when a sentence contains a single word, its spell check feature ignores the word? I know, I know� I�m weird to even notice, much less comment on it. But� that�s me! :)

I did manage to get them to lower the retainer to 2K, with the understanding that they will simply have me replenish it sooner. Replenish it? Why do I get the feeling that this �retainer� is a bottomless vessel, just waiting to be filled like some beer glass at a bar?

To make matters worse, the lawyer I was meeting with looked me in the eye and said �I think this issue of [1 of many money-related items] will be a point of contention. It�s sad that instead of using that money to send your kid to college, you�ll be using it to send my kid to college.�

Ouch.

This cloud does have a silver lining� finality. Both emotional (mostly for her� although I�m sure there is some there for me as well) and financial closure. Once this is settled, I�ll know what I can and cannot afford in the way of those things that make life pleasant rather than just bearable. I�ll be able to buy a condo, rather than rent a room (I hope!). And I�ve got an over-due mid life crisis that�s been waiting for me at the Harley dealership. And it�s getting tired of waiting for me to show up (but� it�s patient� thank god!).

t85225 at 2:41 p.m.

|

previous | next